Skip to content Skip to navigation


The Faculty Senate and the Office of the Academic Secretary

Recent news from the Faculty Senate

Next Faculty Senate Meeting is April 26, 2018.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be on April 26, 2018. Click here for the agenda.

Celebrate the 50th Anniversary of Stanford's Faculty Senate by Voting!

As the Stanford Faculty Senate begins a series of celebrations of the fiftieth anniversary of its founding, voting has begun for the 51st Senate.  The Senate plays an important role in University governance, giving voice to faculty concerns regarding diverse aspects of academic life, including research, teaching, admissions, and hiring.  It is a truly democratic body, with all Academic Council members eligible to vote, and to be elected.  

Over the past five decades, the Faculty Senate deliberations and votes have played an essential role in such policy matters as the establishment of new degree programs, general education requirements for undergraduates, grading policies, openness of research, recruitment of faculty and students from underrepresented groups, ROTC, student initiated courses, and much more.  All members of the Academic Council are strongly encouraged to assist in choosing which of their colleagues will continue this tradition.

Voting began at midnight, February 2, 2018, to elect members of the 51st Senate of the Academic Council for 2018-2019 and to nominate full professors of the university to fill upcoming vacancies in the Advisory Board.  Voting ends at 11:59 PM, February 23, 2018.

As in recent years, the election will be conducted online, allowing voters to cast ballots from their computers on a secure webpage.  All Academic Council members are receiving emails advising them of the election and providing the link for submitting votes.  Voters will be required to sign in with their SUNet ID.

Members of the Senate serve two-year staggered terms, with approximately half of its 56 members elected each year.

The second round of voting for the 2018-2019 Advisory Board, which will be open to all Academic Council members, will be held in late March and early April. The results will be announced in the spring quarter.

An election for the Chair of the Senate and for its Steering Committee from among the elected members of the Senate will also be held in late April and early May. The results of that election will also be announced in the spring quarter.

The Faculty Senate Turning Fifty

For further information about the 50th Senate, please click here or select the link above.

2017-18 Schedule of Meetings of Senate L
School of Law, Room 180, Thursday, 3:15pm 

The Senate meets biweekly during the academic year. Senators should be aware that if special meetings of the Senate need to be scheduled, which occurs infrequently, they will be scheduled on the intervening Thursdays. 

If you are a Stanford community member interested in attending a Senate meeting please contact Adrienne Emory at

Agendas and Minutes as they become available, can be viewed by clicking on the links in the table below.

Autumn Quarter Winter Quarter Spring Quarter


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes

Academic Council

Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes




Agenda     Minutes



Administrative Sessions of the Steering Committee on Behalf of the Senate

The Steering Committee (StC) holds administrative sessions as needed to hear routine or administrative matters that would otherwise come before the full Senate.  This allows the Senate to spend more time on issues that need broader discussion and debate prior to action. All Senators are welcome to attend administrative sessions.