Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

53rd Faculty Senate

Main content start

Welcome to the 53rd Senate of the Academic Council. Here you can keep up to date with Senate actions and discussions, and view all the agendas, minutes, reports and memorial resolutions for the 2020-21 year.

Chair, Judith L. Goldstein   

Professor Judith Goldstein pictured here

Judith L. Goldstein is the Chair for the Department of Political Science, the Janet M. Peck Professor of International Communication and was previously the Kaye University Fellow in Undergraduate Education. She is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS), she serves as chair of the editorial board of the journal International Organization, is a member of the Provost’s budget committee and has served on, or chaired, many academic council committees. Her research focuses on the inter-relationship between politics and economics with a focus on the international trade policy. She has written and/or edited six books and contributed numerous journals to academic journals. Goldstein has a BA from the University of California Berkeley, a MA degree from Columbia University and a Ph.D. from UCLA. 

Vice Chair, Blakey Vermeule  

Professor Blakey Vermeule pictured here

Blakey Vermeule is the Albert Guérard Professor of English and Chair of the English department. She writes and teaches about moral psychology and ethics from an evolutionary point of view. In addition to evolutionary moral psychology, her research interests are the rise of cognitive science and its role in shaping our collective self-understanding. She is the author of The Party of Humanity: Writing Moral Psychology in Eighteenth-Century Britain (2000); Why Do We Care About Literary Characters? (2009), both from The Johns Hopkins University Press and, with Jennifer Summit, Action versus Contemplation: Why an Ancient Debate Still Matters (2018) from the University of Chicago Press. She is writing a book about contemporary mind science.

53rd Steering Committee of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) of the Senate sets the Senate Agenda, confers degrees for the Summer, Autumn and Winter quarters, and serves at Administrative Sessions to the StC to review undergraduate and graduate programs on behalf of the Senate. StC members are elected each year by the Senate. Joining Chair, Judith L. Goldstein are: 

  • Blakey Vermeule, Vice Chair (English)   

  • Mark Horowitz (Electrical Engineering)   

  • Gavin Jones (English)  

  • Jay Mitchell (Law School)   

  • Ruth O'hara (Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences) 

  • Robert Reich (Political Science) 

  • Mehran Sahami (Computer Science)  

  • Dustin Schroeder (Geophysics)

  • Christine Min Wotipka (Graduate School of Education) 

  • Persis Drell (Provost, ex-officio) 

  • Tom Wasow (Academic Secretary, ex-officio)

  • Adrienne Emory (Assistant Academic Secretary, Staff)

Senate Membership     

Provost Persis Drell



Annual Academic Council Meeting 

President Tessier-Lavigne convenes the Academic Council faculty to deliver a state of the university address.  

      2021 AGENDA 

      2021 MINUTES

Special Academic Council Meetings 

Two special Academic Council Meetings were held last Academic Year.   

6/23/20 Special Academic Council Meeting Minutes 

6/25/20 Special Academic Council Meeting Minutes 

2020-21 Schedule of Meetings of Senate LIII
Senate meetings for this academic year are held via zoom

The Senate meets biweekly during the academic year. Senators should be aware that if special meetings of the Senate need to be scheduled, which occurs infrequently, they will be scheduled on the intervening Thursdays. 

If you are a Stanford community member interested in attending a Senate meeting please contact Adrienne Emory at

Agendas and Minutes, as they become available, can be viewed by clicking on the links in the table below.



Agenda  Minutes


Agenda  Minutes


Agenda  Minutes


Agenda Minutes


Agenda  Minutes


Agenda  Minutes


Agenda Minutes


Agenda  Minutes


Annual Academic Council Meeting

Agenda  Minutes


Agenda Minutes


Agenda  Minutes


Agenda  Minutes


Agenda Minutes



Agenda  Minutes


Agenda Minutes



Agenda  Minutes


Administrative Sessions of the Steering Committee on Behalf of the Senate

The Steering Committee (StC) holds administrative sessions as needed to hear routine or administrative matters that would otherwise come before the full Senate. This allows the Senate to spend more time on issues that need broader discussion and debate prior to action. All Senators are welcome to attend administrative sessions.