Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

48th Faculty Senate

Main content start

Welcome to the 48th Senate of the Academic Council. If you are looking for documents listed below that do not have active links, please contact

Kathryn Ann Moler, Senate Chair

Kathryn Ann Moler

The 48th Senate of the Academic Council was chaired by Kathryn Moler, Professor of Physics and Applied Physics. She is an experienced participant in Stanford faculty governance, having served on the Senate, the Steering Committee, the Committee on Committees and the Committee on Undergraduate Admissions and Financial Aid. 

48th Steering Committee of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) of the Senate sets the Senate agenda, confers degrees for the Summer, Autumn and Winter quarters, and serves at Administrative Sessions of the StC to review undergraduate and graduate programs on behalf of the Senate. StC members are elected each year by the Senate. Joining Chair Kathryn Ann Moler are: 

  • Professor James Campbell, History, Vice Chair

  • Professor Andrew Fire, Pathology and Genetics

  • Professor Hank Greely, Law

  • Professor Susan Holmes, Statistics

  • Professor David Labaree, Education

  • Professor Susan McConnell, Biology

  • Professor Mark Zoback, Geophysics

  • Provost John Etchemendy, ex officio

  • Academic Secretary Hans Weiler, ex officio

Senate Membership


Senate Minutes 

Autumn Quarter 

Winter Quarter

Spring Quarter

Annual Academic Council Meeting

President Hennessy convenes the Academic Council faculty annually to deliver a state of the university address.  The Senate Chair reports on the highlights of the Senate.

2016 Minutes 

Administrative Sessions of the Steering Committee on Behalf of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) holds administrative sessions as needed to hear routine or administrative matters that would otherwise come before the full Senate.  This allows the Senate to spend more time on issues that need broader discussion and debate prior to action. All Senators are welcome to attend administrative sessions. 

Spring Quarter