Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

47th Faculty Senate

Main content start

Welcome to the 47th Senate of the Academic Council. If you are looking for documents listed below that do not have active links, please contact

Russell Berman, Senate Chair

Professor Russell Berman

The 47th Senate of the Academic Council was chaired by Russell Berman, the Walter A. Haas Professor in the Humanities, Professor of Comparative Literature at Stanford University. He has an extensive service record at Stanford, having been in the Senate for 8 years, including 4 years on the Steering Committee.


47th Steering Committee of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) of the Senate sets the Senate agenda, confers degrees for the Summer, Autumn and Winter quarters, and serves at Administrative Sessions of the StC to review undergraduate and graduate programs on behalf of the Senate. StC members are elected each year by the Senate. Joining Chair Russell Berman are: 

  • Professor Al Camarillo, History, Vice Chair

  • Professor Coit Blacker, Freeman Spogli Institute

  • Professor James Campbell, History

  • Professor Sarah Church, Physics

  • Professor Kathryn Moler, Applied Physics

  • Professor Brad Osgood, Electrical Engineering

  • Professor Marcia Stefanick, Stanford Prevention Research Center

  • Provost John Etchemendy, ex officio

  • Academic Secretary Hans Weiler, ex officio

Senate Membership


Senate Minutes 

Autumn Quarter 

Winter Quarter

Spring Quarter

Annual Academic Council Meeting

President Hennessy convenes the Academic Council faculty annually to deliver a state of the university address.  The Senate Chair reports on the highlights of the Senate.

2014 Minutes

Administrative Sessions of the StC on Behalf of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) holds administrative sessions on an as needed basis to hear routine or administrative matters that would otherwise come before the full Senate.  This allows the Senate to spend more time on issues that need broader discussion and debate prior to action. All Senators are welcome to attend administrative sessions.