Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

49th Faculty Senate

Main content start

Welcome to the 49th Senate of the Academic Council. If you are looking for documents listed below that do not have active links, please contact

Debra Satz, Senate Chair

Professor Debra Satz

Debra Satz, the Marta Sutton Weeks Professor of Ethics in Society, is the senior associate dean for the humanities and arts. A philosophy professor with a courtesy appointment in political science, she earned her bachelor’s degree from City College of New York and her doctorate from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Her research focuses on the ethical limits of markets, the nature of equality, theories of rational choice, and ethics and education. In 2004, Satz received the Walter J. Gores Award, Stanford’s highest teaching honor. Among her publications are Why Some Things Should Not Be for Sale: The Moral Limits of Markets (Oxford University Press, 2010); (co-ed.) Occupy the Future (MIT Press, 2012); and Economic Analysis, Moral Philosophy and Public Policy(forthcoming, Cambridge, 2016) (with Dan Hausman and Michael McPherson.)

Julie Parsonnet, Vice Chair 

Professor Julie Parsonnet

Julie Parsonnet is the George DeForest Barnett Professor of Medicine, and holds a joint appointment in the Departments of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and Health Research and Policy (Epidemiology).  She has served as the Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education, and is a Resident Fellow in Robinson House. 

49th Steering Committee of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) of the Senate sets the Senate agenda, confers degrees for the Summer, Autumn and Winter quarters, and serves at Administrative Sessions of the StC to review undergraduate and graduate programs on behalf of the Senate. StC members are elected each year by the Senate. Joining Chair, Debra Satz are: 

  • Julie Parsonnet, Vice Chair (Medicine/Infectious Diseases)

  • Stacey Bent (Chemical Engineering)

  • Patricia Burchat (Physics)

  • Margot Gerritsen (Energy Resources Engineering)

  • Bernadette Meyler (Law)

  • Ross Shachter (Management Science and Engineering)

  • Stephen Stedman (Freeman Spogli Institute)

  • John Etchemendy and Persis Drell (Provost's, ex-officio's) 

  • Hans Weiler (Academic Secretary, ex-officio)

  • Adrienne Emory (Assistant Academic Secretary, Staff) 

Senate Membership


Senate Minutes 

Autumn Quarter 

Winter Quarter

Spring Quarter

Annual Academic Council Meeting

President Tessier-Lavigne convenes the Academic Council faculty annually to deliver a state of the university address.  The Senate Chair reports on the highlights of the Senate.

2017 Minutes 

Administrative Sessions of the Steering Committee on Behalf of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) holds administrative sessions as needed to hear routine or administrative matters that would otherwise come before the full Senate.  This allows the Senate to spend more time on issues that need broader discussion and debate prior to action. All Senators are welcome to attend administrative sessions.